Today I went to the Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology located on the state-owned Coconut Island in Kanehone off the Northeastern coast of O’ahu. There, I met with Chris Wall, a Ph.D student studying the effects of climate change on corals. It’s a shame that he’s wasting his time with this silly subject. After all, everyone knows that climate change is just a hoax propagated by the Chinese, right Trump? I met him earlier this trip when he presented for our group and I contacted him earlier this week asking for a tour of his lab. He very graciously showed me all the cool machines they use to do research. Afterwards, I came back to the hostel and managed to catch a Hula outside of the Hyatt Hotel at 6:30. There was a small band and two hula dancers — a guy and girl — who danced to different tunes. I really enjoyed the kind of dancing and also I appreciated that the songs showed homage to the beauty of nature around them.

Today was a relatively late morning. I got up at 9:00, got breakfast where I met Justin, a guy who really likes the $1 drink nights at Lulu’s (or perhaps I met him yesterday. I meet a lot of people who like drinking and intoxication here). I ate breakfast with Vlad and Alma which was very fun. Alma is from Bosnia & Herzegovina and she plays volleyball seriously. They are a funny couple (platonically that is (I think)). Getting to Kanehone took a long time. I was supposed to meet Chris at 2. I left the hostel at 11:50, arrived in Kanehone at 1:00, at which time Chris said that 3 would be better. So I got lunch, realized it was already 2:30, then I had to walk — which turned into a run — a mile through this rich neighborhood overlooking the sea. I then ran up to this guy who was in a boat and said, “Can you take me to the lighthouse?” and he said sure. There I met Chris. He was talking with this other colleague and he seemed like he was in work mode (I guess just because I’m on vacation doesn’t mean everyone else is), so he didn’t smile a whole lot and he seemed stressed, but he was very congenial and was open to questions.

img_20170117_152355223

(He did smile for the selfie)

The tour was fairly short, perhaps only 15-20 minutes, but it was the first time I had done something non-touristy on O’ahu which made me feel good. There were two main things he showed me: the containers where they keep them, and then the chambers where they do various breeding and research methods. I got to see all the different tanks outside which were cool. The ones inside were cool too.

I could go into his research and all, but he has his own research that you can look up, or better yet, you could look at HIS blog! Here is the link: http://coraloha.weebly.com/blog

My day was ending earlier than it usually does, and I had only done one thing. So I looked in my little guide to O’ahu and found that there was the hula thing nearby at 6:30! Very convenient. So I hopped on over and saw some hula dancing. It was pretty dark and there was only torch light and the light from the overhead far-away street light, so my pictures didn’t come out great except for when everyone was still (this was the only one like that that I got).

hawaii-january-2017-personal-031

Then after the hula, I came back to the hostel and got some free pizza from pizza night and talked with this guy Brandon from Minneapolis, Minnesota. He studied business. So I asked him if business is a profession that people are actually passionate about. He said that they are, that it is more than just making money. I’m pretty ignorant about economics and business. He said that economics is the study of how markets work and within business is the study of how and why people make the decisions that they do. The study of economics seems to me to be I suppose an important social science. So perhaps he did convince me of something.

So it was an interesting day, not the most eventful, but still fun. Come back tomorrow for more.

Leave a Reply

